by Stephanie

Camp has ended, the volunteers have said their tearful goodbyes to the tearful children and life has returned to normal, where I normally feel like I haven’t done anything of benefit for this town. Until one night little Noe is here and he is coloring and I leave to teach english class and when I return he holds up a picture he drew. ┬áThe picture is a tree and in it he has written all the names of the volunteers who were here for camp, and he asks me to write my name and Chris’s name in the center of the tree, and then he writes his name and then he holds the tree up and says

“My family tree”

with so much pride and happiness that I feel myself overflowing with the same emotions, and when he sets the picture down and runs off to play I realize that maybe there have been some benefits after all.

